UNO clarifies a major rule and throws a huge spanner in the works

Posted in Play and Activities.

Popular card game, UNO is big in our house. My husband and I, along with our two daughters, and even my parents, all get together to play what becomes a very serious game.

However, a post from the official UNO Twitter account clarifying a particular rule has definitely thrown a spanner in the works.

Sorry, what did you say?

One of the best moments in a game of UNO is when you get dealt a Draw 4 or a Draw 2 card – and you have another one to counter it. The next player then has to pick up double the amount.

However, UNO has sent out a tweet that is bound to shock players the world over, stating that if the person before you puts down a Draw 4 card, you have to pick up four cards and miss a turn. You cannot put down a Draw 2 card to make the next player pick up six cards.

“If someone puts down a 4+ card, you must draw 4 and your turn is skipped,” said the tweet “You can’t put down a +2 to make the next person Draw 6. We know you’ve tried it.”

As the image below states: “You cannot stack draw 2 and draw 4 cards.” Whaaaaaaaat!?

Who me?

Okay, UNO, I admit I might have done that once or twice, depending on who I was playing with. Rules vary from household to household. We play by one set of rules but once my niece and her boyfriend came over and joined in, they had a few different rules of their own. 

That said, stacking the Draw 4 and Draw 2 cards is one of the rules that always raises different opinions. But now I know the truth.

Another other UNO crime I thought I was committing was ending the game with an action card. But another tweet from UNO confirms that this is absolutely fine. Phew!

What are the rules anyway?

To be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever read the UNO rules, rather just absorbed them over the years, by some sort of osmosis. And the way we play the game at home is now well and truly established. Any change is going to be difficult for all of us.

I will have to show my family the tweet to back up the fact that we can’t stack the Draw 4 and Draw 2 cards. Without proof, they’re just not going to believe me.

And while we’re on the subject, I’d better Google the rest of the rules tonight. Maybe I’ll learn something else …


Get more babyology straight to your inbox